Jeff Lynne

Picture

Watched a documentary about Jeff Lynne, the main man behind the Electric Light Orchestra. Reminded me how well-written some of his songs are. He fuses rock, folk, classical, and pop influences, and sometimes it comes off really well. Maybe his music is a bit lacking in rhythmic interest but but his harmonic language is really effective. It’s a bit cheesey, a bit middle-of-the-road and mainstream, and not cool, but I don’t care, I like it. Would love to record some of his songs sometime, perhaps even arrange some of his music. If I had a list of people who I wouldn’t mind working with before they die, then I would be tempted to put him on it.

Leave a Reply

